Skip to main content
Clockwise from top left, James Mandigo, Lynn Pelletier, Keivan Hirji and Megan Stowe are the newest members of the YMCA BC Board of Directors

Clockwise from top left, James Mandigo, Lynn Pelletier, Keivan Hirji and Megan Stowe have been named incoming board members


NEW WESTMINSTER, BC, Nov. 16, 2022 -- We are pleased to introduce four individuals who have joined the Board of Directors for a soon-to-be unified YMCA BC, which will be officially established in early January 2023.

The new directors – James Mandigo, Lynn Pelletier, Megan Stowe and Keivan Hirji – were named to the volunteer governance team earlier this fall. The selected individuals were invited to join the Board after a search firm was engaged to identify exemplary candidates who possess an understanding and appreciation for the Y’s charitable purpose, relevant experience and expertise, as well as those who embrace key YMCA values that include Truth and Reconciliation and diversity, equity and inclusion.

“I am pleased to welcome James, Lynn, Megan and Keivan as members of the initial YMCA BC Board of Directors,” said board chair Greg D’Avignon. “Each of these individuals bring a wealth of applicable experience from their diverse professional pursuits and share a commitment to serving their communities, as seen through their volunteerism with other important non-profit entities prior to assuming seats on the Y Board.”

“We are fortunate to have all four joining our governance team, which will only be strengthened through their addition.”

YMCA BC will effectively launch on Jan. 3, 2023, through the unification of three existing YMCAs in British Columbia – the YMCA of Greater Vancouver, YMCA of Northern BC and the Kamloops Community YMCA-YWCA.

James Mandigo and Megan Stowe will serve two-year terms expiring at YMCA BC’s 2025 Annual General Meeting, while Lynn Pelletier and Keivan Hirji will assume three-year terms that conclude at the AGM in 2026.

Learn more about each of the new directors below:


James is the Provost and Vice-President, Academic, at the University of the Fraser Valley. Prior to his arrival in British Columbia, James was involved in multiple volunteer boards and committees dedicated to education, health and wellness in Ontario. He has researched and lectured on topics that align with the YMCA’s values, such as physical literacy and the use of sport for development and peace, and brings a deep appreciation for the Y’s mission.


Keivan is a Senior Sustainability and External Relations Specialist for North America for the Newmont Corporation. He has also been a highly respected government policy advisor, having served roles at both the federal and provincial levels. An up-and-coming leader, Keivan is a past member of the Vancouver Hub for the World Economic Forum’s Global Shapers initiative and currently sits on the Board of Directors for BC Adaptive Snowsports as Vice-President.


Lynn is a seasoned senior executive, leader and consultant who has guided multiple large-scale operations and strategic projects in the health sector, with a particular focus on mental wellness and community health management. She has significant experience in charitable governance roles, notably as a past chair of the YWCA Metro Vancouver’s Board of Directors. Lynn has also chaired the board of SHARE Family & Community Services and is a current board member for the Elizabeth Fry Society of Greater Vancouver.


Megan is Deputy Chief Information Officer for the Provincial Health Services Authority. She also has a clinical background as a registered nurse and is an adjunct professor in the University of British Columbia’s School of Nursing and an instructor in its Department of Population and Public Health. From her current role with the Coquitlam Cabinet for the Y’s What Really Matters Capital Campaign to serving as a camp counsellor in her youth, Megan brings a longstanding connection to the YMCA and its values.